Free-Form "Insert Elements" positioning.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Free-Form "Insert Elements" positioning.

Hi, I need some light-shed on the current matter.

I am very new to Marketo and our marketer wants a template where one can drag and drop "Insert Elements" onto a free-form page template.

How does this work? I mean I add (for instance) a Form control onto the page and it's default position is wherever you put it on the page with a "Left" attribute of x pixels from the left of the browser window.

How does one insert any of the "Insert Elements" into a specific container of a template so that it is positioned correctly?

I have this misconception of dragging an "insert element" from the right and dropping it into a div element and setting its position properties according to the the div element. Is it not done this way? Should I rather create a guided landing page and let the marketer send me specifications to add to a template myself? What are the free-form templates for then?

9 REPLIES 9
Grégoire_Miche2
Level 10

Re: Free-Form "Insert Elements" positioning.

Hi Ervin,

There is no possibility to make sure that elements will be positioned correctly on a free form template (unless you are ready to invest significantly in some development, and even though I am not sure it will be possible to do something really bullet-proof). The positioning is done by the user and is an absolute positioning, making it very ill-suited for mobile (although a mobile version can be created, but it has nothing to do with responsive design).

I feel you should consider looking into guided landing page templates. See

-Greg

Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the reply. I have already gone through those pages and built a few GLPTs, thus my concerns about the Free-Form templates. The whole drag and drop onto the form seems quite silly regarding that it is absolute positioned. So the only way (I guess) is for me to add in all the necessities (like images and forms) where needed.