Edit/create new email template

Tara_Mason
Level 2

Edit/create new email template

Hi,  I am new to Marketo and have taken the Basic Foundation course, but am having trouble with templates.

We have templates that Marketo created for our association, however I would like to edit them with more logo's/images and content. When I click on the edit draft, I cannot edit the content, only in the HTML Source.

Question: Is the HTML source the ONLY place I can add my content and images? For someone is is knowledgeable in HTML (only at 50%), this is not ideal. How can I update the templates to reflect what we are truly looking for in a template?

I have also cloned a template to see if the edits were different, to no avail. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

3 REPLIES 3
Josh_Hill13
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Re: Edit/create new email template

Email Templates do require a knowledge of HTML. if you know enough to change the IMG URLs, then you should be fine. If not, then please find an expert to help you. Launchpoint.marketo.com has a few options. I usually go with Grazitti and Perkuto. There are also freelancers. I could probably do this assuming you just need some basic changes.

Keep in mind that the Template is just a Template. You should NOT worry about the content here. Only worry about the format, structure, and common images.

Go to docs.marketo.com to see how to do this.

Dan_Stevens_
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Anytime we need to make significant changes to a template (e.g., tweak the layout, add new editable regions, etc.), we simply copy/paste the HTML code into Dreamweaver and edit within this visual environment.  Once finished, we just copy/paste back into Marketo.  Always make a backup just in case something doesn't work right.

Tara_Mason
Level 2

Thanks for your all your help.