Re: EU GDPR Compliance for Physical Events

Michelle_Tang3
Level 4 - Champion Alumni

EU GDPR Compliance for Physical Events

Hey Marketo Users!

We have physical events in Europe this year such as Tradeshows, Happy Hours, Seminars, etc. What are your plans to getting opt in consent to send Marketing communications to these folks?

For example, at a Tradeshow, are you sending an email to those who were scanned at the booth or do you plan on getting consent by signing a piece of paper at the event? Is it the Event vendor's responsibility to add in verbiage when they sign up for the event that they are opting in to booth sponsors marketing email comms? 

Any recommendations or resources would be great!

8 REPLIES 8
Loren_Posendek

Hey Michelle, thanks for starting this thread! Definitely interested to see everyones feedback and input. I'm no Legal expert, so these are just my opinions. My gut tells me that the event vendor would have verbiage about opting-in and/or opting-out in to receive emails from vendors. However, I wouldn't necessarily rely on that. I may send an opt-in email after the event list is imported + processed appropriately to gain consent.

Some of the countries in the EU (looking at you, Germany) already require double opt-in for email consent, so it may be worth following these guidelines for most EU countries.

The second component of GDPR is cookie consent, which is something that I think is very much a gray area right now as it relates to event list imports. We're still figuring this out with our Legal team.

Hope that helps!

Dan_Stevens_
Level 10 - Champion Alumni