When i delete a lead from the CRM, I have noticed that their lead is brought back in with their historical data when they come through at a later date. I would like Marketo to completely wipe the lead moving forward so that the next time a lead comes through it is an all new lead (even if they unsubscribe the first time- the only way to come back in to our CRM is to re opt in). Any advice?
If you delete a lead from both sides, there's no historical data to bring back in -- not sure what procedure you're following to create this apparent result.
i remove them from marketo but it appears as though it remembers their email address and will then mark them as unsubscribed - what I need to happen is to eliminate the durable unsubscribe
OK, that's not really "historical data," it's one particular and special field.
You can flip Unsubscribed off before deleting them. But I wouldn't do it this way, I'd catch the New Lead event so it is clear what you're doing. Also, don't be so sure that "the only" way to come back into Marketo will accompanied by opt-in, forever. There are always changes over time (like the addition of a "one-off" Marketo form) that may break today's rule.