SOLVED

Deleted lead reenters database - does Marketo remember?

Go to solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

Deleted lead reenters database - does Marketo remember?

Hi - looking to find info on what Marketo remembers of a deleted lead if they re-enter the database? I know unsubscribe would still be remembered - are any other fields 'remembered'? i.e. previous hard bounces, blacklist, etc? Where can I find this info?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Re: Deleted lead reenters database - does Marketo remember?

Marketo does not remember this. Which is why deleted leads will often reappear due to activity/updates in CRM (deletions should be done in both).

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Re: Deleted lead reenters database - does Marketo remember?

Marketo does not remember this. Which is why deleted leads will often reappear due to activity/updates in CRM (deletions should be done in both).

View solution in original post

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Deleted lead reenters database - does Marketo remember?

Hi - so does it only remember unsubscribes? Or not even those? I read somewhere else it remembers unsubscribes. Is there any documentation on this anywhere?

Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Re: Deleted lead reenters database - does Marketo remember?

Yes, it remembers unsubscribes.  See Durable Unsubscribe

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Deleted lead reenters database - does Marketo remember?

Hi Dan Stevens​ - quick question on this. To confirm, if a deleted lead re-enters Marketo, will Marketo not remember any previous activity either?

Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Re: Deleted lead reenters database - does Marketo remember?

Hi Carly - it will not since the deletion of the record, also deletes all activity, program membership attribution... basically all traceable history.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Deleted lead reenters database - does Marketo remember?

Thanks Dan Stevens - do you know of any best practices when/if a previously unsubscribed person reenters Marketo via form, on how we can tell them that they're unsubscribed and encourage them to opt back in? How is that recognised? By opting in to our privacy policy, we'd essentially re-subscribe them I think - but I don't know if we should be more up front than that and address the fact that they've previously unsubscribed?

Thanks,

Carly