Re: Compliance question

Christina_Klepp
Level 1

Compliance question

Good morning! I work in the Financial Services industry and I am curious to see if and how firms are incorporating Compliance into their instances to make sure that e-mails are all approved and correct prior to sending out e-mail blasts?

Any information that you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again!

8 REPLIES 8
Mariah_White1
Level 1

Hi Christina! Is there an existing QA/approval process for emails internally? If not, it may be easy to incorporate a 'testing/approval' smart campaign inside program templates to ensure the approval always happens before the scheduling of live emails.

ChristinaZuniga
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Julia Brocato​ is this something you used to do at a previous role?

Julia_Brocato
Level 2

Hey Christina!

Financial Services compliance is a real bear, isn't it?! I used to work for an independent BD and our compliance of public facing assets went through a global relay product that in no way was integrated with Marketo. So everything was pretty manual. First, during our on-boarding we had our implementation manager set up a BCC so that every email we sent was also sent to a compliance email box, so we had a record of everything we ever sent that could be recalled. Although this isn't ideal, it's what we were able to accomplish with limited engineering support. Then for every email we sent out, we were given a compliance approval number, that I added the footer of every email so if a compliance team member ever asked for the approval I could reference the right record in their system. These numbers were long and ugly, so I usually made the text very small and the color the exact same as the background (like white on white) so it was more or less invisible to the end user. Or you could use HTML ( e.g. <!-- approval info here -->)to comment out the approval number, date, etc. The commenting out would also be helpful if you're using Marketo LPs.