Re: Blind Submit Forms in Marketo

Pavel_Plachky
Level 5

Good point about the unsubscribe, Dan. It means that if the forwarding feature is to be used in the anticipated manner, the confirmation email would have to be set up as operational.

Anonymous
Not applicable

A naive question as I am still new to the platform, if what I understand is

correct, if the original recipient forwards the email, that person gets

auto unsubscribed?

Is that correct and if yes, is there a logic for why that is set to work in

that manner?

Regards,

Cliff Pereira

Head – Marketing Automation

Meritgroup

On Mon, Aug 7, 2017 at 6:58 PM, Pavel Plachky <marketingnation@marketo.com>

Dan_Stevens_
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Dan_Stevens_

I would strongly advise against this - especially if you are dealing with strict anti-spam laws (CASL, GDPR (next May), etc.).  Never mark an email as operational that includes a marketing/promotional message.

I wasn't referring specifically to "unsubscribe", but depending on how you have your unsubscribe confirmation page setup, that will come into play as well.  I was referring to any of links.  For example, our CMO will often forward relevant event/webinar emails to her leadership team.  When we click on those links to go to the registration page, sometimes they're pre-filled with her name (another reason that we never use form pre-fill - especially since we do business in countries where data privacy/security laws are very strict - like Germany).

Pavel_Plachky
Level 5

If the email is in response to clicking the button "Yes, please register me" then I do not see much problem sending the email even to somebody who did not explicitly opt in. Clicking on that button is good enough reason for getting an email, probably under any data privacy law.