SOLVED

Batch Email with Attachment

Go to solution
Kirstie_Olah
Level 2

Batch Email with Attachment

I have to find a solution to send an email to a customer database (11,000 contacts) but each recipient will receive a unique attachment as it’ll contain their account number and special pricing. 

I know Marketo doesn't support attachments in emails but does anyone know of another way to achieve this?

Many thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: Batch Email with Attachment

I have some experience using experience using postfix. We have a developer on the team that has more experience than I do that would be able to help. I thought about trying to parse the emails to XML but, I am not sure that would work.

Not sure what you mean about parsing to XML, that wouldn’t help (they’d just have to be encoded as standard MIME afterward).

The general sequence is:

• use Send Alert instead of Send Email so you can send via your rerouting/rewriting server, encoding the original email address in a custom field (there’s a way to use Send Email but it’s highly complex, save that for a v2!)
  • parse the email to a MIME object on your server
  • add the attachment
  • re-sign the email (you must invalidate the original DKIM signature and create a new one)
  • send it to the final destination

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
SanfordWhiteman

Kind of impossible to answer! If it must be an attachment, it can't be through Marketo. If it must be through Marketo, it can't be an attachment.

Kirstie_Olah
Level 2

Yeah, it must be an attachment.

Jay_Jiang
Level 10

just curious, why must it be an attachment?

SanfordWhiteman